Posted by Barrie on Sunday, 22 March 2009

Rafael Nadal defeats Andy Murray to win Indian Wells

Rafael Nadal defeated Andy Murray in straight sets, 6-1 6-2 to claim his 2nd Indian Wells title and his 2nd titles of the year, following the Australian Open.

The first set was one-sided after a flying object at the back of court distracted Murray, down 2-1 on serve. Following that and the referee's failure to spot it angered the Scot throughout the remainder of the first set and was soon broke and on his way down, losing the opening set 6-1.

The wind didn't help either, but showed how great they are because at times you may not have noticed how strong the wind was. There were some great rallies on show, with Nadal coming out on top of most of them, although it is fair to mention Murray won some too.

Despite holding his opening two games of the second set, Murray looked inferior to the world number 1 on court, winning the baseline rallies, and not being beaten by Murray's net approaches either. He took the remaining 5 games of the second set for a comfortable victory, with too many errors from the world number 4.

Rafael Nadal won his first Indian Wells tournament in 2007, defeating Novak Djokovic 6-2 7-5 in the final. Nadal lost to Djokovic here in the semi finals last year, and was on course to meet again in this year's until the Serbian's defeat to Andy Roddick in the quarter finals.

Andy Murray defeated Roger Federer to get to his first Indian Wells final, and has closed the gap between him and Novak Djokovic in the world rankings.

Unfortunately our pro tennis tipster wasn't here today to write a preview for this match, but after getting the women's final wrong earlier today, perhaps that's a good thing! Although he is the best when it comes to tennis tips...

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home